Exams and Licensing

Comprehensive Exams at ACTCM at CIIS

In order to progress through the MSTCM and DACM programs, students are required to pass three comprehensive exams: the first exam at the end of Level 1, the second exam at the end of Level 2, and a graduation exam given at the conclusion of the ACM 7318 AOM Comprehensive Review. Study guides and policies for comprehensive exams, and dates for each exam can be found on ACTCM at CIIS Comprehensive Exam Handbook below.

2019 – 2020 Comprehensive Exam Handbook

NCCAOM Examination (National Exam)

Most states outside of California require passing the exam for NCCAOM Certification to become a state-licensed acupuncturist. Most insurance companies also accept NCCAOM Certification as a basis for reimbursement for treatment. As national certification standards are adopted throughout the country, the mobility to practice where one chooses also increases.


California Acupuncture Licensing Exam (CALE)

Individuals wishing to practice acupuncture in California must first obtain a state license, which requires qualifying for and passing California’s written examination. The examination tests the competency of entry level acupuncturists.  The California Acupuncture Board administers the exam and licensing of acupuncturists in the state.